Book Reviews

ARC Review: ‘Irresistibly Yours’ by Lauren Layne

5 “Tiny” Stars!

ARC provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

 photo Irresistibly Yours - Lauren Layne_zpsa3caovqw.png

I still cannot believe this is my first Lauren Layne book. I want to thank her, the publisher and Netgalley for giving me the opportunity to have and review this fantastic novel (one of my first ARC’S, yaaaaaaay!).

So, let’s talk about the book. Irresistibly Yours belongs to the Oxford series, which (I discovered) it’s a spin-off of another series of Layne’s called Sex, Love & Stiletto (that, of course, I will read right freaking now!). But this novel tells the story of Cole Sharpe (a ‘very-hot’ freelance sports editor that is competing for the staff position in Oxford magazine) and Penelope Pope (his competitor and a very sweet woman who, by the end, will fall completely in love with Cole: I mean, who wouldn’t, right?).

Penelope Pope was real.

What did I love about this book? First, the writing. I normally tend to go for very erotic books or series and this was a very good change for me. Irresistibly Yours has some smokin’ hot moments but still is not considered erotica. And Lauren Layne is amazing at that. Her writing is very easy to follow, it’s very well written and she gives her readers all types of moments: sweet, sexual-tension filled, hot, dramatic, romantic, etc.

“I will treat you with the respect you deserve at work, and then I will use your sweet body for sex after work, but Penelope Pope, I give you my solemn promise not to fall in love with you.”

Obviously, another aspect that I loved was her characters and their chemistry. Cole and Pen are super cute together and, as you can see, they have this ‘promise’ that, as you can imagine, will be broken ;) I really enjoyed their moments as friends and as a couple, as well as the moments with all the other characters (who I am so excited to read more about!!!).

“Here’s the thing, Tiny. A few months ago, I made you a promise that I wouldn’t fall in love with you.” […]
“I’m going to have to break that promise.” […] “I’ve fallen in love with you, Penelope. Yes, that scares the shit out of me. And yes, it caused me to freak out. But my head’s out of my ass now, and I just, I want… I’m yours, Penelope. If you want me. Irresistibly yours.”

Therefore, my rating for this book is 5 STARS. It was the type of book that I like (it has a little bit of everything) and I really enjoyed Lauren Layne’s writing and characters as well. I liked them that much that now I am directly going to read her Sex, Love & Stiletto series (because I want to read the other’s stories!). Also, I cannot wait for the next story in this series! So, if you are into contemporary romance and you want a sweet and beautiful story, Irresistibly Yours is perfect for you: highly recommended!!

GOODREADS REVIEW

Leave a Reply

