Book Reviews

Review: ‘Leo’ by Mia Sheridan

5+ “I choose you” Stars!

 photo Leo - Mia Sheridan_zps7ozceduu.png

After a quite bad read I needed a feel good and sweet novel and I knew Mia Sheridan would be a good choice. Earlier this year I read my first book by her (Archer’s Voice) and I loved it so I decided to give it another try and now read Leo (which happens to be Sheridan’s debut novel).

First let me say this in advance, I believe I will not be able to review this book without ‘spoilering’ something. The whole book and one of the characters in particular has this secret and it happens to be everywhere in this book. I literally read 10% of Leo and I already suspected on the ‘big secret’ so PLEASE if you haven’t read this book and you want to, DO NOT CONTINUE READING my review. You’ve been warned 😉

Leo is a stand-alone (that belongs to Sheridan’s A Sign of Love novels) and it tells the story of two kids that have grown up together in foster care: these are Leo McKenna and Evelyn “Evie” Cruise. They start as friends (Evie being 10 and Leo 11) and obviously, as time passes, they fall in love. However, Leo is adopted at the age of 15 and has to leave his beloved’s side. He promises he will come back for her…

“I’m going to kiss you now, Evie, and when I do, it’s going to mean that you’re mine. I don’t care how far away from each other we are. You. Are. Mine. I’ll wait for you. And I want you to wait for me. Promise me you won’t let anyone else touch you. Promise me you’ll save yourself for me.”

And he never came back. We do not know why and with that eight years pass. Now, Evie is 22, she is free and she is living a decent life (even though, she had quite a difficult past thanks to her druggie mother). She works, she can pay a little apartment for her and she has amazing friends (loved Nicole and Landon to pieces!!). However, her love life is nule after having her heart broken by the love of her life.

Then.. Jake Madsen a.k.a “creepy stalker” appears. He is rich, super handsome and he is kind of stalking Evie (who happens to enjoy it a little bit!!). After some time they actually talk and Jake comes with news about Leo. News that Evie was not expecting after eight years.. Also, the news that Evie happens to be very VERY attracked to Jake, of course!

“You know, I’m sure there are girls all over the city who would love the opportunity to be stalked by you. It really doesn’t seem fair that you focus all your creepiness on me.”
He smiles. “I’ve decided I like focusing on you, though, Evie.”

They feel a very strong connection towards each other and they start dating. Evie and Jake are the sweetest and hottest together. I love Mia Sheridan’s characters and the ones in Leo were not an exception. So, Jake and Evie are dating and they feel this connection which reminds me so much of the one she had with Leo.. Evie senses that as well and she also sees that Jake is hiding something.

He rips his mouth from mine as he growls, “Mine. Only mine. Only. Ever. Mine,” still slamming into me, pounding me against the wall.

I had made a promise a long time ago and although that person was no longer a part of my life, nor was he ever going to be, somewhere inside I always knew that if I was going to fall in love again, it was going to be because something in that man reminded me of Leo.

The novel is a mix of Evie’s present and flashbacks and well.. Obviously, there is quite a surprise towards the ending: (view spoiler) I very much suspected of it since the beggining but still I really enjoyed Leo. I enjoyed it so much.

“I love you, Evie,” he says quietly. “Whatever you think about what I’m about to tell you, you have to know that. I’ve always loved you. I’ve never stopped. Not for one second in eight years.”

I loved the writing. The main and secondary characters. And specially the chemistry between the couple. As always, Sheridan does not fail on that! And the ending! Awwwwww, it was just so freaking sweet! I love cheesy, lovey dovey, love you forever kind of ending haha

Everyone tells a story about themselves in their own head. That story makes you what you are, dictating all your actions and all your mistakes. If your own story is filled with guilt and fear and self-hatred, life can look pretty miserable.
But, if you’re very lucky, you might have a person who tells you a better story, one that takes up residence in your soul, speaking louder than the woeful tale you’ve convinced yourself of. If you let it speak loudly within your heart, it becomes your passion and your purpose. And this is a good thing, the best of things. Because it is the very definition of love, nothing less.

Therefore, my rating is (clearly) 6 STARS because I simply loved this novel: just the whole thing (writing, characters, plot, etc.). I think it was an amazing debut book and I cannot wait to read the other ones written by Mia Sheridan. So, if you haven’t read anything by her or you haven’t read Leo, please do, I highly recommend it!

GOODREADS REVIEW

Leave a Reply

