Book Reviews

Review: ‘Misconduct’ by Penelope Douglas

4.5 “Careful” Stars!

 photo Misconduct - Penelope Douglas_zpskp6vjkdv.png

Everyone was raving, talking and reviewing this book so I decided to start reading it myself. That was an amazing decision LOL Actually, this is my first book by Penelope Douglas and let’s just say I really really enjoyed it!

Misconduct is a stand-alone novel and it tells the story of Easton Bradbury (an ex tennis player who decides to start a new life as a history teacher in New Orleans with her brother after a tragic situation) and Tyler Marek (the CEO of one of the biggest industries in the world, the stranger that Easton meets during Mardi Gras and now also the parent of one of the protagonist’s students).

“Give me your last name,” he demanded quickly, pinning me with a hard stare.
“Now, what fun would that be?” I replied with his same sarcastic remark.
But he didn’t see it as funny.
“If you leave,” he warned, “there will be nothing holding me back when we run into each other again.”

Let’s just say Easton and Tyler’s first meeting was INTENSE. The room is full of sexual tension and their dialogue is delightful. Tyler is such an alpha and Easton is kick-ass, I loved it! In my opinion, Misconduct has been one of the hottest reads this year for me. These two together are off-the-charts smokin’ hot. Why? Well, obviously, because their relationship is definetily forbidden.

There is quite an age-gap between them (Easton is 23 and Tyler is 35) but let me tell you, it was not an issue for me! haha Because I loved them together. They have very emotional moments and the sex is just.. SO FREAKING HOT, they cannot stop touching each other!

I knew that look in his eyes. I may not know much about him, but I knew that look.
And we were in my classroom.
His son’s classroom.
I may have had little shame, but he had none.

“What are you doing?” I gasped.
His forehead pressed against mine, and his hands moved urgently, holding my face. “Dark spaces, quiet places,” he whispered over my mouth. “That’s all we need, Easton.”

“Oh, God,” I groaned. “I fucking hate you.”
Why couldn’t he wait? I wanted to feel his skin.
“As long as you fucking fuck me, I don’t care.”

I really would put even more quotes but then this would be a hell of a long review LOL Also, I liked the building of Tyler and Christian’s (his son) relationship. It starts very badly because Tyler was very young when Christian was born and did not take care of him emotionally but it all ends good.

Of course, the main issue in this book is how Easton and Tyler want each other, cannot stop thinking about one another but they also have to maintain their ‘relationship’ in secret. Also because Easton is afraid of falling in love with him after her past issues. Tyler wants to become a senator and Easton is Christian’s teacher. So yeah, it was quite emotional and sad sometimes!

It wasn’t easy to say no to something you wanted, but I was taught that while some mistakes can be overcome, others should never be made. In our hearts, we always know what’s right and wrong. That’s not the struggle.
The struggle is wanting what’s wrong for you and gauging whether or not the consequences are worth it.

Obviously, it all comes good at the end! So don’t worry, these two have a happy ending! Even though, they have a lot of difficult situations before it! I mean.. there was something almost at the end that I wasn’t expecting at all (you’ll see if you read it) but still loved it!

Therefore, my rating for Misconduct is 4.5 STARS. Why not 5 or 6? Definetely, midway through the book I was sure this was a 6 star read for me but it felt a little slow at the end for me and maybe I would have enjoyed a longer epilogue! However, this was a very good read and I really liked the chemistry between the main characters. So I totally recommend this if you want to read a good taboo novel 😉

GOODREADS REVIEW

Leave a Reply

