Book Reviews

Review: ‘Perfectly Imperfect’ by Harper Sloan

5+ “I identify with Willow” Stars!

 photo Perfectly Imperfect - Harper Sloan_zpsaaw5acbm.png

What a wonderful story that Harper Sloan has written! I don’t want to seem a toady but.. I want to thank her because I feel so many people can relate to her main character and also to her. Harper (in the author’s notes of this book) says this book is her most personal one and I felt it. I felt everything with this novel, and I just want to say THANK YOU, HARPER for giving us this story and making me feel especial even when having body issues.

So, Perfectly Imperfect tells the story of Willow Tate (a woman who is divorcing from a verbal abuser, a woman who has lost the person who she loved the most -her mother-, a woman that is not loved by her other family members and a woman that, consequently, has no love for herself) and Kane Masters (a super-hot, super-sweet famous celebrity that feels lonely and also feels a very strong connection towards the female protagonist since the moment he meets her).

Like I said… today is the day when everything I have been working toward comes to fruition. Today, I choose to be a better me. One who doesn’t hate herself. One who isn’t so self-conscious of everyone around her.
Today, I choose strength.

The first thing that I enjoyed the most about this novel is, obviously, Willow. Our protagonist finds herself in a very difficult moment and also suffers from quite strong body issues. Willow is a curvy woman, a woman who does not fit the standards that, unfortunately, our society has. And as I mentioned before, I identify myself with her for that. I also am curvy and sometimes I do feel bad about it but what this book has tought me is that I have to love myself. Willow is a weak character at the beginning but she has amazing people around her and she actually is a strong woman so it’s beautiful to see how she finally stands up for herself and surpasses all the obstacles that are put in her path.

“Willow?” Eddie questions softly.
Turning, I look into his eyes. “Yeah?”
“You’ve come so far, honey. Promise me that you’ll try and look over those walls you’ve trapped yourself inside.”
I nod, not trusting my voice. Eddie reaches up and brushes the lone tear that trails down my cheeks. “I’m ready, Eddie. As scary as that is… I promise to go into this adventure with an open mind.”
“Even if that adventure takes you to Kane?” he asks softly.
I take a fortifying breath before speaking, a small smile playing across my lips. “Even if,” I promise.

What else did I love? Oh yes, Kane. Kane Masters is pure imperfect perfection, ladies (just like Willow). Kane Masters is now one of my favourite book boyfriends. Kane Masters is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. Ok, I just cannot help myself!! Kane is a very famous actor, producer, Hollywood director and he is lonely. He feels his ‘relationships’ are pointless because he is a rich and famous celebrity and he wants to change that. He wants an actual relationship, he wants a woman to love and he finds that in Willow. It’s practically love-lust at first sight and I just can’t explain how sweet and amazing these two are!

Kane and Willow together are over the charts cute and over the charts smokin’ hot. I loved how she is stronger for herself but also how Kane brings a new light into her life and changes everything. I love Kane because she makes her feel loved and cherished. Sometimes.. I just love the super-romantic-and-cheesy stuff. I just can’t even! Together, they are perfect.

“I don’t know, Kirby. I’m completely new at this!”
“I know, honey,” she says and turns her head to meet my eyes. “And it’s so beautiful to watch him bring you to life.”

“There isn’t beauty in perfection. It’s as fake as the image the word projects. Beauty is found in imperfection, Willow, because to admit you’re not perfect means you’re admitting you’re not whole and absolute. When I think of myself, I see someone willing to admit he’s as far from complete as it gets because, in order to get to that perfection, I need to find the other part of me who will make my life better. To take all the faults I have and fill them, and only then will I be there. You see, the way I see it, the only way to become perfect is to find that perfectly imperfect person who brings it out of you.”

“Every sinful curve on your body makes my mouth water. I want to run my tongue over every inch of you, tasting and biting until you have no doubt that what makes you tense with apprehension makes my cock hard to the point of insanity. Your body is meant for mine, and there is no place in your mind for you to doubt that.”

I know, I know: quote overload! I just cannot stop it, I loved this so much!!! And I would put more because there is so much that I liked about this book. Another aspect is the humorous moments that Haper Sloan brings us. I mean, Kirby and Eddie? The are so freaking funny! LOL Drunk Willow is funny. Kane is funny (and SO HOT). Kane’s mother is funny hahah I mean, you have a little bit of everything in this book!

Willow: I’m in bed. Are you in bed? I want to see your bed.
Kane: You’re in my bed.
Willow: Uh, no, I’m not. I think I would know if I was in your bed.
Kane: Fuck, you’re adorable.
Willow: You’re really, really hot. Do you have your shoes on?

So, yes that was a long review. But very deserved for this amazing book. Therefore, my rating has to be my especial one: 6 STARS for Perfectly Imperfect. Again, I loved every single word of this and I enjoyed that much because I connected a lot with the characters. So, I repeat: thank you, Harper for this! And please guys, give this one a try because it is fantastic! Highly 100% recommended! 🙂

GOODREADS REVIEW

Leave a Reply

