Book Reviews

Review: ‘Simply Irresistible’ by Jill Shalvis

4.5 “Hot tool belt” Stars!

 photo Simply Irresistible - Jill Shalvis_zps01lqpshc.png

As always when I finish a book I have the same struggle: what to read next. I saw this series, and I know it is quite known by my GR friends, so I decided to start reading it! I am so glad I did!!

Simply Irresistible is the first installment of the Lucky Harbor series written by Jill Shalvis. This novel introduces three sisters who have the same mother (Maddie, Tara and Chloe) and how now they have inherited a ‘resort’ in a little village in Washington. This is the story of Maddie Moore (the middle sister, a woman who has just been fired and also who had an abusive boyfriend, and who decides to give the resort a chance and re-organise everything) and Jax Cullen (the hot biker she meets when she arrives in Lucky Harbor and who happens to be the contractor she just hired to help renew the house).

“I’ve heard that LA women are pretty aggressive in their pickup tactics. But this just might be one for the record books. You should probably just save us both some trouble and ask me out directly.”
“Hey, I didn’t nearly run you over on purpose. And I tripped on the bike trying to read the sign.”
“Ah, but you don’t deny the attempting to pick-me-up part.” He nodded. “You want me bad.”

I really enjoyed Jill’s writing and her characters. It reminds me of Lauren Layne’s style and also how she is able to make us love the people in her stories. I loved the interactions between the sisters, the ones with our three guy friends (Jax, Ford and Sawyer), the ones with the people of Lucky Harbor and, obviously, the ones with the main couple!

“He has superpowers,” Maddie said, nibbling on her thumbnail.
“Yeah?” Clearly fascinated, Chloe took another peek. “Like being hot as hell?”
Tara lightly smacked Maddie’s hand from her mouth. “What does he want?”
“I’m going to guess SpongeBob Pants here,” Chloe murmured, still looking at him.
Maddie pushed her away from the window so she could take her own look. “Oh, my God,” she whispered.
On the porch, Jax turned his head and gave her a slow, mischievous wink, making her jump back as if he’d bitten her. “Oh, my God.”
“She’s starting to repeat herself,” Chloe said to Tara, who took her turn at the window.
“Oh, sugar.” Tara took her time looking him over. “You’re not ready for the likes of him.”
“I hate to agree with her on anything,” Chloe said to Maddie. “But she might be right on this one.”

They are so funny together these three!! haha I cannot wait to read Tara and Chloe’s stories (which I am sure will be with Ford and Sawyer, yaaaay!!!). I really liked the familiarity of the characters and the building of Maddie and Jax’s relationship. These two were so cute and they have amazing sexual tension and chemistry! OMG, I want a Jax Cullen for myself!! He sure can make chocolate shake and a tool belt look VERY HOT.

“You going down?” Maddie asked him.
His eyes flamed. “Any time.”
Much as she hated to admit it, Tara had been right. He was out of her league. She grabbed her sweatshirt and turned to go downstairs to open the door for the dog herself, but he reeled her in until she was up against him, her back to his front. “Remember this place,” he said, voice low. “Remember where we are. Right here, this very spot.”
“You keep taking those steps back,” he said. “Not enough forward.” Turning her in his arms, he lightly brushed his lips over hers before pulling back to meet her gaze. “Save our place,” he said quietly, all signs of teasing gone.

Also, I am in the mood for some Christmas themed books so this was perfect! I think this will become one of those familiar and sweet series that I will really enjoy. I cannot wait for moree!! I really enjoyed the story and the characters!

“Did I ever tell you,” he murmured, dropping to his knees to press a kiss to her bruised hip, “that I’m pretty convinced you have your own superpowers?”
“What are they?”
“The power to get past all my walls…”

Therefore, my rating for Simply Irresistible is 4.5 STARS because I am really liking Jill’s writing but I did not rate it with 5 stars because I really miss not having epilogues in books. I always wantt more haha Despite that, I totally recommend reading this because I am sure this is a good way to start with this author and also a good way to start a great series! 🙂

GOODREADS REVIEW

Leave a Reply

