Book Reviews

ARC Review: ‘That Thing Between Eli & Gwen’ by J. J. McAvoy

5.5 “Catching fireflies” Stars!

ARC kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

 photo That Thing Between Eli amp Gwen - J. J. McAvoy_zps1gqb9cuq.png

I believe most of you know that J. J. McAvoy is one of my favorite authors. Well, I was extremely excited and happy when she send me an advanced copy of her new stand-alone novel called That Thing Between Eli & Gwen. So first I want to thank her for giving me the chance to read this fantastic book before its publication because, again, she did an amazing job with this one!

So, That Thing Between Eli & Gwen is, as I said, a stand-alone novel and it tells the story -obviously- of Eli Davenport and Guinevere ‘Gwen’ Poe: two people successful people that are getting married to their supposed beloved ones and at the end, they find themselves alone after Eli’s bride runs away with Gwen’s fiancé and they are left to pick up what is left of each other.

The scary thing about reality is all of our monsters are humans… humans who have the ability to make you drink with people you don’t know.

This novel is a little bit different from what McAvoy is known for (darker books). This is a romantic comedy, but still amazing with J. J.’s style. It was such a breath of fresh air for me but still I enjoyed it a lot because it has aspects that are the same in this author’s books (some drama, twists and unexpected things). I cannot say it enough times: I freaking love J. J. McAvoy’s writing style and her kick-ass characters!

“You want me to see you as sexy?” She looked confused.
“If everyone woman within my presence does not find me worth drooling over, I’ve failed as a man.”
She pretended to gag.
“Cute,” I replied.

And talking about characters, Eli and Gwen are such fabulous and complex characters! Gwen is a very famous artist, a woman who is not afraid to stand by her opinions and a romance book nerd who, on the inside, only wants to find her soulmate. Eli is a very successful doctor who decided to follow his father’s footsteps, son of the chairwoman, a wealthy full-of-himself asshole (only at the beginning!) and after you get to know him: a hurt man who finds himself when he starts falling in love with his Guinevere.

“I don’t think about her. I think about you, just you. That’s why I’m here. Can’t you tell? I grow more attracted to you with each passing second. Catch up.”
“How are you doing it?” she whispered, her eyes dropping to my lips. “Why am I all of a sudden thinking about you like this?”

These two, OH MY GOD these two! I loved them together since the first page to the last one. First they have this back and forth that is so freaking funny, then they start being friends and well.. when they start being attracted to each other it gets even better! It was a great journey because they start as hurt people who don’t want to like each other, then to friends and finally to lovers. Gwen and Eli have off-the-charts chemistry, inside and outside the bedroom 😉 I just love McAvoy’s characters so much! They are so strong-minded, original and still so sweet and hot together as a couple.

She bit her finger, looking at me with a large smile on her face.
“What?”
“Don’t mind me, I’m just watching your hotness level rise.”
I snickered. “What level was I on before?”
“Does it matter now that you’ve broken the scale?”

“The one thing I love about us, Guinevere, is that we talk, we laugh, we tease each other, we laugh more, and we drink. Before being my girlfriend, you were my friend; I love that.”

They have such wonderful moments: the debate, the fundraiser, the first date (the W.H. Auden poem.. loved it!), the sex scenes (holy moly!!! always so hot!), and obviously the drama and twists.. I was definitely not expecting that! As I said, still J. J’s style! It was so dramatic but so beautiful, so so soooooooo romantic! I loved every single word. And I loved the ending and that fantabulous epilogue!!

I knew the moment his lips were on mine… it had to be fate.
It had to be him.

I loved her more than I loved myself.

Therefore, I am so happy to rate That Thing Between Eli & Gwen with 5.5 STARS because, as I said, this is still J. J. McAvoy at her best but definitely in a different environment! It was great! So funny, romantic and emotional! I did not rate this one with my especial 6 stars because I am a needy bookworm and I wanted even more of these two at the end! lol So, obviously, if you have read anything by this author or you want to try and see a different but still amazing work by her, this is definitely a very good choice! I highly highly recommend this 🙂

GOODREADS REVIEW

Leave a Reply

