Book Reviews

Review: ‘Black Lies’ by Alessandra Torre

4.5 ‘Black Lies and a Secret’ Stars!

BR with my Shhluts 😀 – Read as part of the ShhLYT(F)BR week on Dark Books.

 photo Black Lies - Alessandra Torre_zpsmgws0pth.png

Honestly, I don’t even know where to start with this review. Two days after finishing this and I am still blown away by the amazing talent Alessandra Torre has. I have read Black Lies as part of this week’s TopPick on the Shh… group on Dark Books (you can still join us!) and I knew I was getting myself into something different, something I haven’t read before. And boy was I right! It was that and so much more.. Thank you Shhluts for recommending this to me!

Torre starts the first part of the novel with: “This is a love story, but not one that is easy to read.” It definitely is that, for sure! Black Lies is a love story between three characters: Layana ‘Lana’ Fairmont a.k.a Lucky (a young heiress who has just recieved her trust fund and wants to enjoy it), Brant Sharp (the hot CEO of a tech multi-million company and benefactor of the charity Lana works in) and Lee (a sexy landscaper that Lana cannot stop herself from wanting).

Go ahead. Judge me. You have no idea what my love entails.
I love two men. I fuck two men.
If you think you’ve heard this story before, you haven’t.

I believe I will say what everyone says about this book but let me just tell you something: I hate love triangles and I hate cheating and I still LOVED this book. This is not a typical love story. If you are curious and you want to read Black Lies GO BLIND. Do not look for spoilers, it will totally ruin the experience for you. Keep an open mind and do not judge what happens until you finish it! Trust me and all the other reviewers that have said this, you will not regret it.

When you really love someone, you cannot walk away. No matter what they do. No matter the lies from their mouth, or the actions from their bodies, you tie yourself tightly to their sail and vow to be there through thick and thin. Let the wind blow you where it may. Even if that place is a crash. Even if that place tears you apart and kills anything good.

Alessandra, I am at your feet. This book messed up with my head, BIG TIME. And I loved it. This is pure Torre’s writing style, raw and beautiful on its own. The words flow and you cannot stop but continue reading the story (even though it makes you hate the characters sometimes). AT has created three outstanding characters: they are super-complex, with amazing deepth and she will make you fall in love with all of them. She will make you fall in love with this wonderful love story.

I love her completely. She returns the love wildly. This love is worth the unsaid truths. The hidden lies.

“I don’t love you despite this. I love you, including this. Every part of you, even parts you don’t know.”

And this novel will make you feel hot, like OFF-THE-CHARTS HOT. The sex scenes are out of this world, they are exquisitely written and extremily fresh and intense. The chemistry between the characters is superb and it will make you feel every freaking thing. It’s a mindfuck, it’s a roller coaster of emotions. Especially after the big twist, when you discover ‘the secret’. You want to know this secret? READ THE BOOK. Seriously. I will not tell you 😉

He gripped my hair when he thrust into me. Moaned my name when he turned me over and took me from behind. He made me come with his cock, then his fingers, then his mouth, before pounding a rhythm into me that I would never forget.

‘It was worth it as soon as I saw you’.

Therefore, my rating for Black Lies is 4.5 STARS because I know this book will stay forever with me, it just made me feel every emotion possible and I loved it. Sometimes it was even too much for me to handle so that is why I haven’t rate it with 5 stars (maybe some of you know that I am not always ready to dig into dark romance books), I still have book hangover lol However, I have to say: if you haven’t read this book, if you are afraid to check it out (like I was), even if you hate love triangles and cheating, please, GIVE THIS BOOK A CHANCE because I am pretty sure that if you finish it you will not regret the experience. I totally recommend!

GOODREADS REVIEW

Leave a Reply

