Book Reviews

Review: ‘Cuff Me’ by Lauren Layne

4.5 ‘Vin’s Hearts and Flowers’ Stars!

 photo Cuff Me - Lauren Layne_zpsvcoigrm6.png

I have been waiting for this book since I read the first book in Lauren’s New York’s Finest series. She has been teasing about these two since the beginning and I was so excited to finally get to read their love story, especially since the Moretti’s have become one of my favourite fictional families. And again, thank God, Lauren Layne did not disappoint!

Cuff Me is the third installment in this series and it tells the story of Vincent Moretti (the top NYPD homocide detective, an introvert man who is very careful about his feelings and who is very affected by the change in Jill’s life) and Jillian ‘Jill’ Hentley (Vin’s work partner, she is sassy but reserved especially when it comes to her feelings for the hero and now she also is an engaged woman, a fact that, of course, Vincent does not take very well).

Jill. He’d been picturing this moment in his head for weeks now, and the joy, he’d expected.
The pain… not so much.

Lauren Layne is one of the authors that can make me cry like a baby within the 10% of the book. Yes, this is what happened. It got so emotional when Jill came back from Florida (she was taking care of her mother and she came back with a ring on her finger), I felt so bad for Vincent and how everyone was reacting to Jill’s new situation, especially knowing that Vincent was waiting for her to come back to him.

It wasn’t supposed to be like this.
She was supposed to have come back from Florida feeling like he had that day he impatiently counted the hours until he saw her at the welcome-home party.
She was supposed to feel what he was feeling.
If he only knew what that was.

Vincent Moretti was my favourite character in Cuff Me. He is such an amazing hero, he is great at his job, he loves his family to pieces and he cares deeply for Jill. The only thing about him is that he does not know what he feels and when he does he does not know how to express it. It was very beautiful to read how he finally accepts his sentiments for the heroine and how, in his way, fights for her.

“Am I? Really? Because a friend doesn’t disappear for three months, come back engaged with not so much as a word of warning.”
“Well, pardon me for assuming that my gruff, non-talkative partner would care about my love life.”
“I cared!” he roared. “I’ve always fucking cared!”

“Just because someone doesn’t talk about feelings doesn’t mean they aren’t there.”

I am so in love with him *sigh* And Jill, well, I really liked her, most of the time. She has a great relationship with the Moretti family and she really loves Vincent. However, there were some situations in which I did not like her reaction: I mean, how she does not see that Vin is trying so hard, in his way, to fight for her? But, at the end, everything ends well! And can we just talk for a minute about how amazing Layne is at writing on first kisses and emotional sex scenes? It took a lot of time for Vincent and Jill to get together (maybe too much) but when they do? Holy hell!

“You have the right to remain silent…”
Vincent slid his hand upward, one finger sliding slightly into her.
Jill moaned.
“Apparently you’re forgoing that right,” he said, his teeth nipping at her left butt cheek as his fingers continued to play with her.
“Vin, you—”
“Careful, baby. Anything you say can and will be used against you in a court of law.”

Yes, I loved these two together, SO MUCH. And another aspect, that I also really enjoyed on Frisk Me and Steal Me (the first and second book in this series) is the Morettis. Lauren has created such an amazing, caring and super-funny family that it’s impossible not to love them! In this case, there were more interactions between the brothers than anything else but I really enjoyed getting moments with Nonna (I can’t deal.. she is the best!), with Tony and Maria (the parents), with the girls (Ava, Maggie and Elena), with Marco (the other brother) and even better when they are all together! I freaking love this family, seriously!

“So where is the old biddy that landed you in this horrible place, and got you dressed in that ugly gown that makes your boobs look like pancakes?”
Anthony grabbed the Jell-O cup out of Luc’s hand. “I’m going to go find the red Jell-O.”
“I’ll help!” Luc said, half running after his brother.

“How long have they been standing there?”
“Oh, you know. The whole time.”
“And how long have my mom and Maggie been crying?”
“Also the whole time,” she answered, grinning happily as she traced a finger over his jaw.
“Uh-huh. And Nonna and her camera—”
“Yeah. Whole time.”

I know. Lots of quotes. Happens everytime with Lauren Layne’s books, especially the ones in this series. Sorry (not sorry!) lol It’s just.. these characters have stolen my heart with the fabulous relationship they have. And they are so hilarious!

“My brothers said that saying it would be the hardest thing I’ve ever done. They were wrong. It was the easiest. Because loving you is easy.”

Therefore, my rating for Cuff Me is 4.5 STARS because Lauren Layne has, again, created an outstanding love story, with great characters, off-the-charts chemistry and a happy and beautiful ending (I really wanted to get an epilogue, though! I would have been the happiest person in the whole world lol) Please, if you haven’t check her books out, do it: you are missing out! I highly highly recommend this 😀

GOODREADS REVIEW

Leave a Reply

