Book Reviews

ARC Review: ‘From This Day Forward’ by Lauren Layne

4.5 ‘Cinnamon’ Stars!

ARC provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

 photo From This Day Forward - Lauren Layne_zpsijyg02d7.png

Lauren Layne is one of my favorite authors, especially when I want to read a light, funny and sexy love story with great characters. I am sure you can understand why I was so excited when she announced a new series that will be released during the rest of 2016.

From This Day Forward is the introductory novella to what will be Lauren’s Wedding Belles series, which is perfectly described in the blurb as “Sex and the City meets The Wedding Planner” (and that’s a perfect description!). This short story is about two wedding photographers (Leah and Jason) who had a very passionate affair that ended badly in the past and now they have to work together for the Wedding Belles in the former First Daughter’s wedding. You can imagine what is going to happen 😉

Nothing had burned hotter than him and Leah together.
And nothing had been quite so cold as the year that followed, when Leah had iced him out of her life entirely.
Until now.

I am 100% sure I will love this series. Why? Well, because this novella had Layne’s Sex, Love & Stiletto touches practically everywhere. And I FREAKING LOVED the Stiletto series. So yeah, as I said, I am pretty certain I will love this one as well.

Again, Lauren presents to her readers a group of fantastic characters that will steal your heart. In this case, Leah and Jason are both famous photographers with lots of emotions between them. Leah is hurt by how their relationship ended and she is decided to forget about Jason, even if she has to use sarcastic and sassy behavior towards him. And Jason is too proud to explain what really happened to Leah. What is more important, our main couple still feels the chemistry between them. And, damn, that is some hot chemistry!

“Sweetheart, by the time I’m done with you, sleep will be the last thing on your mind. Guarantee it.”

Their eyes met, and she saw the same confused emotions on his face that she knew he was seeing in hers.
It was too much. It was everything.

As always, I really enjoy Lauren Layne’s writing style, it is fluent and super-easy to follow. Adding to that, she writes a great story with complex characters and a very emotional love story. I am always happy to find that familiarity and friendship that Lauren never forgets to give to her readers. The only thing I missed in this book, because I constantly want more, is an epilogue. Besides that, I have to say I cannot wait for the other three stories!

“Mr. Rhodes. Are you telling me you believe in happily ever after?”
“From this day forward, I do, Red. I absolutely do.”

Therefore, my rating for From This Day Forward is 4.5 STARS because this was a great way to introduce Lauren’s new series, which left me wanting to know more about the other characters that she presented in this novella. Moreover, she gave us a great story with a lovely and sexy couple! So, if you enjoy Lauren’s writing or you want a fabulous narrative to read, check this one out: I highly recommend!

GOODREADS REVIEW

Leave a Reply

