Book Reviews

ARC Review: ‘To Have and to Hold’ by Lauren Layne

4.5 ‘That damned wedding planner’ Stars!

ARC provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

 photo To Have and to Hold - Lauren Layne_zpsdf3rwmvh.png

I knew this series would be, again, an outstanding addition to Lauren Layne’s creations. Most of you know I loved her Stiletto series and how could I not love this one when it has Lauren’s special touch all over it?

To Have and to Hold is the first installment in Layne’s Wedding Belles series and it introduces three women who work as wedding planners and they will find their happily ever after a la Sex in the City style. This novel tells the story of Brooke Baldwin (a woman who has just found out she was about to marry a con man and now she moves to NY to start a new life) and Seth Tyler (a man dedicated to his work, who loves his sister dearly and now wants to stop her from marrying, with Brooke’s help or not, the wrong man).

“Getting involved with the details—all of them—involves more than you getting to spend time with the bride and groom. It also means you’re going to be spending an awful lot of time with me.”
“How much time with you?”
“Once a week at least,”she said quietly. “More as the wedding gets closer.”
“Hmm. Once a week,” he repeated. His light blue gaze flicked up to hers. “I think, Ms. Baldwin, that things could get very interesting.”

Things definitely get very interesting with these two (and all the other characters presented). Lauren Layne continues with her fantastic easy to follow writing style, with her deep, funny and sassy heroines and her complex and super-sexy heroes. I loved all the new aspects introduced in this series (the location, the characters, their job, etc.)and I can’t wait for more!

“We women just want—we hope…”
Brooke trailed off, and Seth shifted his body to face her more fully, his expression turning earnest. “What. What do you hope?”
“That someone good will love us,” she said quietly.

I really enjoyed To Have and to Hold. It has everything that I enjoyed before about Lauren’s books and it has, obviously, a great couple and a fantastic love story! Brooke and Seth start in a way that reminds me so much of Pride and Prejudice (Seth is totally a modern Mr. Darcy!) and only because of that I knew I would love this novel. The main characters develop a deep relationship, full of emotions and full of sexual tension. Of course, Lauren Layne gave us amazing and smoking hot scenes that made me love and want more of these characters!

“Do you have a vulnerable side?”
“I do. Her name is Brooke.”
Her lips parted slightly as happiness washed over her. “You know I’m already going to sleep with you, right? You don’t have to woo me with romance.”
“No? In that case…” He lowered his mouth to her ear. “Take me upstairs so I can fuck you. Hard.”

*Swoon* I love Seth so much, seriously, he is so hot! Lauren developed this love story amazingly well and made me love all her new characters a great deal. Also, there was this kind of secondary story between Seth’s sister and another man which I definitely enjoyed. Also, after reading this novel, who is not excited about Heather and Alexis’ stories? I definitely am!

“I did it because I love you. And that’s not an excuse, but it is the truth. I know it’s soon, I know it’s crazy, but my feelings for you are the most real thing I’ve ever known.”

Therefore, my rating for To Have and to Hold is 4.5 STARS because, simply, Lauren Layne did it again: she is making me fall in love with her fabulous characters and their stories because she has this great talent that I call special touch! Still, I did not rate it with 5 stars because I missed having an epilogue (I always enjoy them!) but besides that, everything else was perfect! So, if you enjoyed Lauren’s Stiletto series or if you like to read a story with a mix of Sex and the City, the Wedding Planner and Pride and Prejudice, you should definitely check this one out. I totally recommend!

GOODREADS REVIEW

Leave a Reply

