Book Reviews · Releases & Reveals

ARC Review + Giveaway: ‘For Better or Worse’ by Lauren Layne

Review

5 ‘Banana bread’ Stars!

ARC provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

 photo For Better or Worse - Lauren Layne_zpstefzickj.png

I cannot say it enough times: Lauren Layne is amazing. If you haven’t read any of her books, I will seriously stalk you until you do! lol I previously said this series would be an awesome addition to LL’s work and now, more than ever, I can say I was right. This is Lauren in her Stiletto style, this is Lauren at her best Sex in the City/Wedding Planner style.

For Better or Worse is the second installment in Layne’s Wedding Belles series and now we are introduced to Heather Fowler (a woman who has work hard to make her dreams come true, she finally gets the promotion she has wanted since forever when she meets her music-loud sexy neighbor) and Josh Tanner (a man decided to change and enjoy his single life after getting past a cancer diagnosis but everything changes when he meets the woman in 4C).

Live the life you want, not the one you have.

“You’re a pig,” she muttered.
“Hurtful, 4C. Very hurtful.”
“Yeah, you seem like a real softie underneath all those muscles,” […]
“Notice those, did you?”
“Hard not to, what with the too-small shirts and all. Do you shop in the children’s section?”

Lauren Layne continues surprising me. I was really looking forward to this new series because I thought this would be as good as her Stiletto books and I wasn’t mistaken. I adore LL’s writing style: she makes everything flow perfectly, giving us all kinds of scenes (from sad to hilarious) and she creates the most amazing characters. I fell in love with Josh and Heather from the first chapter, this is how good this woman is!

It was becoming increasingly clear that his intriguing new neighbor might be exactly what he needed to make him feel alive.

I can definitely say For Better or Worse is my new favorite book in the Wedding Belles series. To me, it was even better than the first two (the introducing novella and the first book). I love the plot, the characters and the love story so freaking much. The main couple has outstanding chemistry from the first to the last page: they start a sex-only relationship but we all know how that normally ends. Obviously, Lauren is great at sexual tension filled scenes and when these two have sex.. well, it was super-sexy and hot!

“You’re so beautiful,” he whispered against her neck. “And I’ve wanted this so damn long.”
Heather pulled his mouth to hers. “Then let’s not wait any longer.”

However, the aspect that I enjoyed the most about this novel was how Lauren inserted the topic of a character/s dealing with the scary illness that is cancer. Josh is decided to live his life at the fullest but instead he becomes a reserved man who is afraid to start a loving relationship. I love how Heather reacts to it and wants to be Josh’ support. Of course, Josh does quite accept it but I really really adored how he behaves at the end!

“You might not love me yet, 4A, but you will,” […] “You will.”

Also, I really am liking the friendship between the three heroines (Brooke, Heather and Alexis) and how Lauren gives us fantastic moments between them. I loved having some scenes with Brooke and Seth and how LL teases us with Alexis and Logan’s story: I seriously am crazy excited about it! I cannot wait to read how reticent Alexis will fall in love! Lauren made me fall for her fabulous characters, all over again. And, can I say how happy I am that we got an epilogue in this book? YAY!

“I need you, Heather. I need you, I want you, I love you for always. For all the todays and all the tomorrows.”

Therefore, my rating for For Better or Worse is 5 STARS because I am happy to say Lauren Layne did it again for me. She is a writing genius who writes outstanding love stories with characters that steal your heart. Josh and Heather are not an exception: they grow together and it’s beautiful to read. They give us happy, sad, hilarious and many many more exciting scenes. I cannot wait for the next book! I cannot recommend this woman’s books enough 😉

GOODREADS REVIEW


Giveaway

The below blogs are hosting a Wedding Belles Bouquet Giveaway to celebrate the publication of the second in the series, For Better or Worse.

The Wedding Belles Bouquet will include To Have and to Hold (7/26), For Better or Worse (8/30), and To Love and to Cherish (10/18).

You can visit all sites on the Bouquet Giveaway Tour to enter to win–but keep in mind you can only win once! U.S. only. Each winner will receive one copy of each book during the week of its publication date.

Sunday, August 28th

Monday, August 29th

 Tuesday, August 30th

Wednesday, August 31st

Thursday, September 1st

Friday, September 2nd

Saturday, September 3rd

2 thoughts on “ARC Review + Giveaway: ‘For Better or Worse’ by Lauren Layne

Leave a Reply

