Book Reviews

ARC Review: ‘Falling Sweetly’ by Aidan Willows

4 ‘Be Brave’ Stars!

ARC kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

 photo Falling Sweetly - Aidan Willows_zps5bba2kbs.png

I’ve been waiting for this book since forever (or it seems like it). When I read Falling Completely (the first book in the series) I fell in love with Aidan’s characters, their crazy but lovable relationships and the humor she portrays so awesomely. That hasn’t changed on this work and still on the same style Aidan has written something quite different!

Falling Sweetly is the second installment of the Starling Falls series and it continues the story of the members in the Jameson family and how they fall in love. In this case, it was time for Niki Abbott (the little sister of the heroine in the first book and a shy baker who has some pretty big insecurities about herself which translate in avoiding certain chef) and Jacob ‘Jake’ Jameson (the third oldest sibling in the family, a man who loves cooking but is now in a pretty difficult situation and also who is decided to finally go for what he wants: Niki).

Aunt Deb: YOU AND NIKI ARE ON A DATE?
Me: No, Aunt Deb. We’re just having lunch.
Aunt Deb: WHY ISN’T IT A DATE?!
Me: Because it isn’t, Aunt Deb. We’re just hanging out. Stop yelling at me in capitals!
Aunt Deb: NO! YOU’RE BEING STUPID. I WANT THAT GIRL AS A DAUGHTER-IN-LAW. MAKE IT HAPPEN, JACOB. OR ELSE.
Me: What do you want me to do, Aunt Deb? She’s still nervous around me. I’m giving her time to adjust to the idea of there maybe being an us.
Aunt Deb: SCREW THAT! IF YOU LIKE HER, JUST TELL HER! THINK ABOUT MY FUTURE GRANDBABIES, JACOB.

I just had to put that crazy long quote because I love Aunt Debbie so much. This actually represents what I enjoy most about Aidan’s books: the familiarity. The Jamesons are a big happy family that have a super-close relationship between them. I mean, it’s so close that they are always interrupting between Jake and Niki. Someone could find that annoying but the way Aidan writes it, I just find it extremely hilarious! I really really love this family! So many funny moments together!

“Why is this so hard for me?” I asked her quietly.
“Each rose blooms in its own time, cutie.”
My expression turned desperate. “What if I never bloom?”

“Prepare to be wooed like you’ve never been wooed before.”

Now let’s talk business: the main couple in Falling Sweetly is Jake and Niki. Well, I have to say this story is quite different from Falling Completely. Liya and Caleb hit it off pretty fast and these two are quite the opposite. The building of their relationship is slower and it gradually increases until they start being in an actual relationship and having sex. Niki is a very insecure woman and that slowed the process too much for me. I mean, sexual tension is awesome and I loved it but I missed having more intimate moments between them. Obviously, leaving that aside, when the sex happens, it is HOT!

“Oh, my God. Jake. What are you doing?”
“Having my dessert,” he growled as his mouth attacked my dripping slit again fervently. “And it’s one of the sweetest things I’ve ever had in my mouth.”

Jake is a sexy chef, right? 😉 Moreover, I have to say that even Aidan’s writing (which was pretty good since the beginning) has improved. The story was fluent and well-developed. I enjoy that it had lots of different scenes that made me feel so many different emotions. And talking emotional, I loved when Niki finally accepted herself and took over the vixen inside her! The book has a pretty good ending, even though I wanted more of these two together! I never have enough lol

“I learnt something today.” I gyrated my hips over the noticeable bulge under his jeans.
“Oh God,” he groaned. “What did you learn?”
I raked my nails across his scalp, and the groans from him made me grin. “I learnt that I’m all kinds of awesome.”

Therefore, my rating for Falling Sweetly is 4 STARS because it definitely is a great addition to this series, a series that portrays a family that I am falling in love with more and more with every book. I also enjoyed the love story, especially towards the end! Niki and Jake are so adorable together! So if you want to meet this big, crazy, happy family, check this one out! I recommend 🙂 And, I want to thank Aidan too, because she is awesome! Thank you for the copy and thank you so much for acknowledging my blog on your book! <333333

GOODREADS REVIEW
Leave a Reply

