Book Reviews

ARC Review: ‘To Love and to Cherish’ by Lauren Layne

3.5/4 ‘No more waiting’ Stars!

ARC provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

description

It’s sad to say goodbye to a series that you enjoyed a lot. That has happened several times for me when it comes to Lauren Layne since she is one of my favorite authors. The Wedding Belles has been a great journey, a journey that has reminded me a lot of Lauren’s Stiletto girls (who I adore!) and their loved ones. I have to say though, I had extremely high expectations for this book and they weren’t quite reached until the very end.

To Love and to Cherish is the third and final installment of this series and it finally tells the story we all have been waiting to read: it’s about Alexis Morgan (the owner of The Wedding Belles, a woman dedicated only to her job, who is still affected by a past event and because of that she does not see what is in front of her own eyes) and Logan Harris (the hot and British silent partner and accountant that has been waiting eight years to sweep Alexis of her feet).

Logan was… everything. He was her friend and her business and her future all wrapped up into one admittedly yummy package. / And Alexis’s careful, practical heart, even at its most vulnerable like it was now, just couldn’t handle the potential of losing everything.

“Logan. I don’t understand you like this. I don’t get what you want from me.”
“Yes. You do.”

This novel was a good read for me. Not great and not bad either, just good. As I said, I had extremely high expectations since Lauren has been giving some moments between these two in the other books in the series. Here is the thing: while I FREAKING LOVED Logan, Alexis was not what I expected. Logan is the perfect hero (funny, kind, friendly, sexy and British!!!) but, many times, Alexis behaves like a scared child. I get why she is behaving that way at the beginning but even when the sparks start flying she does not accept her feelings for Logan and that kind of pissed me off.

She wanted to be held by this man who’d been so unwaveringly there for her every step of the way. A man who, if she was being perfectly honest, she hadn’t treated nearly as well as he deserved.

Waiting for Alexis had been pure torture. He wanted nothing more than to throw her over his shoulder and haul her to his apartment, bedding her until she was thoroughly, forever his.

That is why I am still undecided about my rating and that is why I am going to leave it as it is. Of course, if we leave Alexis behavior apart, To Love and to Cherish was a great addition to the Wedding Belles series. Again, I cannot tell enough how much I loved Logan and also all the moments with the other girls and their life partners. Lauren still gives us happy, funny and sexy moments in this book and finally, FINALLY that epilogue! Awww, melted me so hard! Logan is definitely one of my favorites Lauren Layne heroes!

“I’ve waited a long time for this, Alexis Morgan. And I fully intend to take my fucking time.”

“I think I’ve loved you since that very first day at that bar, and what’s more… I think you’ve known it. Haven’t you?”

Therefore, my final rating for To Love and to Cherish is 3.5/4 STARS because if we leave how I felt towards Alexis during most of the book, this was a proper addition to the Wedding Belles series! I loved meeting all these characters and again, fall in love with their stories. So, if you have enjoyed Lauren’s work in the past, I totally recommend reading this series!

GOODREADS
Leave a Reply

