Book Reviews

Review: ‘Heat Wave’ by Karina Halle

4.5 ‘Freckles & Mr. Gruff’ Stars!

This is my first book by Karina Halle, can you believe it? I was so interested when I read the plot and when I saw the good reviews about it I got straight in there. I wanted to start with a standalone and this was perfect: I mean who does not love a forbidden second chance romance?

Heat Wave tells the story of Veronica ‘Ronnie’ Locke and Logan Shephard. These two meet one night where sparks started flying from the first moment they layed eyes on each other but for different circumstances they do not meet again until years later. Now Ronnie is in need of a job and is traveling to Kauai to start a new life but it’s not easy since Logan will be her new boss. Logan is crossed most of the time, still affected by the loss of his wife (who happened to be Ronnie’s sister) but the couple cannot escape what they still feel for each other. I said it was a forbidden romance!

He was mine, even before he knew it. He was mine in some strange way that I still don’t understand. The only way I can think of to explain it is…
You just know.

First of all, I am in love with Karina’s writing! Heat Wave is an absolutely stunning portrait of Kauai. Her descriptions are flawless and almost poetic: I SO wanted to be there while reading this book! And even better, I loved the development of the story and the relationship between Logan and Veronica. I got the feels, people! This was definitely full of emotions (love me some angst with plenty of sexual tension!).

“It’s easier for you to hate me than to like me, isn’t it?”

We’re positively volcanic and the fire between us is growing and giving life to something else entirely. Something new. Something unstoppable.

And when all the angst and emotion comes together and the tension finally breaks.. holy hell, it was explosive! I loved the slow burn but I loved the sexy scenes even more. Logan and Ronnie together are SO HOT and I loved them together as a couple. Because all the feelings that we see between them since the beginning, it’s bewitching to read how they fall in love all over again.

“I can’t promise I’ll be gentle,” he says. “But I can promise you’ll come so hard you won’t know any name but mine.”

“I should have been with you, Ronnie. It’s always been you.”

Logan is definitely book boyfriend material! Still, I have to say what stopped me from giving this the 5-star rating is what happened towards the end. I did love these two together but the decisions Ronnie makes by herself because of all the family stuff, I do not get them. I get her first reaction is that but I did not like how she acts afterwards. Of course, everything is right at the end (and SO heartwarming) that I got passed it.

When I’m with him everything feels right, like fate, kismet, and destiny have joined forces and moved mountains in order for us to be together.

“I want you forever. Just like this. Under this sun, in these waves. With me.”

Therefore, my rating for Heat Wave is 4.5 STARS because I, for sure, thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I loved Halle’s writing style and all the feels this novel gave me. This will definitely will not be my last by hers, I can’t wait to read more books by this author! So, if you enjoy forbidden romances with plenty of emotions in the mix, I totally recommend this one!

goodreadsicon

Leave a Reply

