Book Reviews

Review: ‘Smut’ by Karina Halle

5 ‘Peach’ Stars!

I am officially in love with Karina Halle’s writing. Actually, I read this a few days ago but I haven’t had the time to review it until now. This is my second book by this author, the first was Heat Wave (which I really enjoyed) and I have to say Karina definitely surprised me! This woman knows how to write everything. I loved the drama in Heat Wave but I adored this sexy romcom!

Smut is an enemies to lovers story and it introduces two people (Blake Crawford and Amanda Newland) who meet in a creative writing course, they suddenly have to write a project together (and they can’t stand each other!) and they end up becoming writing partners as well as lovers.

“We need to at least try and get along if this is going to work.” I pause. “Or if anything, at least not kill each other until the novella is done.”
“I’m not sure that’s possible.”

This novel was everything! I loved the writing, I loved ALL the nerdy characters, their banter, all their moments together and the incredibly hot chemistry between the MCs. Smut is a hilarious, sexy and feel-good love story. My favorite so I am definitely not complaining! Romcoms are quickly becoming one of my favorite genres and Smut is a great example of the best you can find.

“I’m paying,” he says. “And driving. Go nuts.”
I push the drink away. “I’ll behave.”
He waits a beat, licking his lips, before he says, “I wish you wouldn’t.”

Blake and Amanda are so freaking funny and so freaking HOT. I love me some enemies to lovers chemistry! I loved that the story revolved around two people falling in love while writing erotica! These two burned my Kindle, that’s for sure! Holy hell, Karina Halle knows how to write some off-the-charts sex scenes. That library scene? OH MY GOD. Every reader’s fantasy come to life. Blake, I love you! lol And have I mentioned he is British? 😉

I’m tired of pretending that I don’t want to do to her all the things we’re writing about.

The need to drive myself so deep inside her is more dominant than ever.
It’s the need to claim.
To make her mine.

So yeah, as you can tell I enjoyed every single word in Smut. I can assure you this will not be the last I read by this amazingly talented woman. I am so excited to check out her other stuff! I do hope she writes more romcom because this was simply brilliant. I kind of missed having a longer ending but, besides that, this novel was perfect for me!

“Take me to Asgard,” I cry out. “Or Ragnarok. Or pleasure town, wherever.”
“Anywhere you want to go, my peach,” he murmurs. “But we’re going together.”

Therefore, my rating for Smut is 5 STARS because I enjoyed the hell out of this novel! Funny, extremely hot and with great characters, who wants more, right? I totally recommend checking this book out, especially if you love Karina’s writing or I also think it would be the perfect first read by this author if you love sexy romcoms!

goodreadsicon

4 thoughts on “Review: ‘Smut’ by Karina Halle

Leave a Reply

