Book Reviews

Review: ‘Mack Daddy’ by Penelope Ward

4.5 ‘Believe in my Heart’ Stars!

 photo Mack Daddy - Penelope Ward_zpsax5ipjxx.png
(Yes, I am trying new stuff with Photoshop lol I really want to get better at it! Let me know if you like it!!)

It’s been quite some time since my last Penelope Ward book. I do always read her collabs with Vi Keeland but I don’t know why I always hesitate to grab her solo books. I have to say when I read this had a hot single dad, I could not wait to get my hands on it! And I really enjoyed it! This is pure Penelope Ward style, a book with great and funny characters, with lots of sexual tension between them and all the emotions in between.

Mack Daddy is a standalone novel and it’s a second chance romance. Mackenzie ‘Mack’ Morrison and Francesca ‘Frankie’ O’Hara have unfinished business between them when they reunite after eight years apart. They were roommates back in the day, roommates who became best friends and best friends who became so much more than they expected. Mack had to leave all of sudden and now he is back, in the school Frankie works, with a son, and he is ready to fight to get the love of his life back.

I’m here for you.
I want you in my life again.
Even if all you’ll give me is your friendship.
Fuck that. That will never be enough for me.
Not with you.

Penelope Ward is an excellent writer. Her style is so beautiful and I love how she develops the relationship with the main characters. Frankie and Mack have a lot of baggage and this definitely shows in the pages of Mack Daddy. It’s an extremely emotional book, even angsty and dramatic sometimes but at the same time, it felt light (thanks to Mack’s humor!) and pretty sexy.

“I’ll make a deal with you. I’m an asshole, right?”
“Okay…”
“You’re a scaredy cat—a pussy.”
“I’m a pussy…”
“I’ll rub some of my asshole off on you if you rub some of your pussy off on me.”

I loved Mack to pieces. He is one of the best book boyfriends Penelope has written. He is protective (of Frankie and his son), a great father (I melted with all the moments with Jonah!), hard working, lovable and sexy as heck! I do have to say, Ward always leaves the most emotional and hottest parts towards the end of her books, and while I enjoyed every single bit, I have to admit I always miss having more coupley moments. Frankie is in a relationship for the most part of the book and while I loved how Mack fights so hard to get her back, I did not enjoy as much how she is always afraid to accept she still loves him.

“You asked what I plan to try? Everything. Every goddamn thing, Frankie—until you tell me to stop. Until you look me in the eyes and tell me there’s no point in continuing.”

“Remember all those things you wished I could do to you? I’m about to make all your wishes come true if you let me.”

Obviously, leaving that aspect aside, Frankie and Mack as friends and as a couple were absolutely amazing and when the sex happens.. OH MY GOD, their chemistry is so hot! I could not stop reading, especially towards the end, because it got so emotional that I was at the edge of my sit at all times! And that ending, truly fantastic!

“Sometimes, the more difficult road leads to the greatest destination.”

Therefore, my rating for Mack Daddy is 4.5 STARS because it was a great book that I could not stop reading and that made me love the characters and their relationship from beginning to end! I can’t wait to see what is next and I REALLY can’t wait for Mister Moneybags (Penelope’s next book with Vi Keeland). So, if you like second chance romances (especially if they have a hot single dad in them), I totally recommend reading this!

goodreadsicon

5 thoughts on “Review: ‘Mack Daddy’ by Penelope Ward

Leave a Reply

