Book Reviews

Review: ‘I Knew You Were Trouble’ by Lauren Layne

4.5-5 ‘Worthy Trouble’ Stars!

God the magic this woman has in her head! Lauren Layne is killing it with her releases every single time! Lauren is an auto-buy author for me and I am always extremely excited when it’s time for a new book to come out. I always have crazy high expectations for them and I am so glad to say that, again, she did not disappoint with this one!

I Knew You Were Trouble is the fourth installment in the Oxford series (spin-off of Lauren’s Stiletto series) and it’s the love story between two enemies who, obviously, fall hopelessly in love. The sparks between Nick and Taylor start flying (in all directions!) from their very first meeting and, as you can imagine, that transforms into a fantastic chemistry afterwards!

What if Nick Ballantine got under her skin not because she didn’t like him . . . but because she did?
And what if he liked her back?

Imagine when Taylor Carr gets turned down by sexy Nick Ballantine! Other kinds of sparks start flying everywhere! lol Their hate-to-love relationship is just amazing. Who doesn’t enjoy lots of banter, some secrets and lots of emotions? I am definitely not complaining on that! Lauren just knows how to develop that slow burn in such a delicious way that you cannot stop yourself from falling in love with her stories and her characters!

He wanted Taylor Carr—but when he finally put his hands on her, he didn’t want it to be about Bradley.
He wanted it to be about them.

And yes, there is some type of “love triangle” at the beginning. And you know how much I don’t like them but it was so clear since the beginning what Nick and Taylor feel for each other that I could get pass it! I just cannot stop myself from loving all these characters! The Stiletto/Oxford crew has a very special place in my heart and now Nick and Taylor are too!

“Some of the best things in life are the unplanned ones.”

“Only you,” she whispered before she could stop herself. It’s only been this way with you.

Therefore, I am rating I Knew You Were Trouble with 4.5/5 STARS because I enjoyed the heck out of this love story (that’s why I am leaving this rating because I can’t decide how good it was! lol). I love feeling such a strong connection with the characters and the love story and I do hope we get more Oxford stories: I am definitely curious about Hunter and Brit! If you are a LL fan, you cannot miss this one!

One thought on “Review: ‘I Knew You Were Trouble’ by Lauren Layne

Leave a Reply

