Book Reviews

Review: ‘Unbreak My Heart’ by Lorelei James

5+ ‘All. Fucking. In.’ Stars!

If you are a Lorelei James fan and you have read her Rough Riders series, I am pretty sure you have been waiting for this book as much as me. Lorelei presented the protagonists of this story in Gone Country (the 14th book of the RR series) and I fell in love with them instantly. And, finally, after 4 AND A HALF LONG YEARS, we get the story we have been waiting for!

Unbreak My Heart is the first installment in the Rough Riders Legacy series and it’s about the reunion of Sierra Daniels McKay and Boone West after seven years separated. These two had instant chemistry when they meet but because of circumstances and decisions life drove them apart. Now, after seven years, they meet again and Boone is prepared to claim what he considers his: Sierra.

“Us being in the same place, at the same time isn’t a coincidence, Sierra.”
“Yes it is.”
“No it isn’t. It’s fate.”

Can I just start by saying I am so freaking happy that we got this story? There were moments I thought it would never come. And, of course, Lorelei James delivered a great love story that had very high expectations from all her readers. She is starting a new series with the legacy of the characters in the Rough Riders series and I cannot be more excited about it!

“I’m not the cute couple guy. I’ll always be intense. Especially when it comes to this. Especially when it comes to you. I’ve wanted you for too fucking long to pretend it’ll be anything less between us.”
I slid my hand across his chest to feel the increased pounding of his heart and felt my pulse race in response. “It’s always been like this. I didn’t imagine it, did I?”
“No, baby. You didn’t.”

Now, focusing on Unbreak My Heart, let’s just say that Sierra is still hurt by how things ended between she and Boone and especially at the beginning, she is fighting against her feelings for him. But, Boone will not give up this time. He is back to claim his woman and he will not stop until he gets her. And does he get her! lol Obviously, their off-the-charts chemistry is still there. The mix of the strong feelings they have for each other and the sex.. MIND-BLOWING.

The only reason I came to Phoenix is because you’re here. There. I fucking said it. You. Are. It. For. Me.
So his kiss hadn’t been to remind me of the past; it’d been a promise for the future.
A future I never thought we’d have.

“I could eat you alive. Every inch. Top to bottom.” I planted kisses up the side of her throat to her ear. “But I’m gonna start in the middle.”

Yes, the sex is amazing. It always is in Lorelei’s books and this one is not an exception! And you know how I enjoy good sex scenes with lots of emotions between the main characters. And this definitely was a roller coaster of emotions. It was a great mix of past and present moments that finally concluded with Boone and Sierra’s much deserved happy ending.

“I want everything I’ve never had. I want to know what it’s like to fall asleep with you in my arms.” I nibbled on her bottom lip. “I want to wake up in the middle of the night and do wicked things to you until you’re awake, wet and frantic.” I licked the inside of her upper lip. “I want your face to be the first thing I see in the morning.”

“I love you. Being in love with you is better than just being all fucking in.”

Boone is such a great, sexy and swoony hero! I just love Lorelei James’ characters so much. And talking about that, she presented a great deal of secondary characters in this book! We had Lucinda and Raj (who are just hilarious!) and quite a number of McKay legacy members. I cannot wait to read all their stories. I will never tire the Rough Riders series, that’s for sure!

Home wasn’t a place. It was a person. And she was mine.

Therefore, my rating for Unbreak My Heart is a well-deserved 5+ STARS, my special 6 stars rating. Lorelei definitely met our expectations for this book! We had an outstanding love story, with amazing main and secondary characters and a couple that continued having explosive chemistry. As I said, I cannot wait for more stories of the RR legacy! So, if you have read Lorelei’s books, I highly recommend you check her new New Adult series out, you will not regret it!

GOODREADS REVIEW

One thought on “Review: ‘Unbreak My Heart’ by Lorelei James

Leave a comment